Article
By mondala
Published: August 16, 2006
Print
EmailSubdreamer makes an appearance on Ebay!
Sort of.
LINK: Subdreamer something or other on Ebay? 
A curious observation I made on Ebay,,,, I was searching for something Subdreamer related when I came to an Ebay listing by what appears to be a web hosting provider (www.citywidetech.net) selling Subdreamer?, Subdreamer hosting?, Subdreamer installation? I was not quite sure to begin with.
First glance it appears to be a possible midnight webhosting company, at least that is what my conclusion was after looking at the sloppy design, fuzzy images, poor grammar and excessive use of slang for a my liking. Anyway, no thanks, I won't be signing up! lol At first, I thought someone was selling a website that was powered by Subdreamer, this would make sense. After a second read, I thought someone was selling copies of Subdreamer itself, Subdreamer Pro 2.32 according to their demo. That is not right, they cannot sell Subdreamer Pro for $0.99 ! SO, after a thrid read of the deceptive text which was primarily all product verbiage taken from Subdreamer's own website and completely out of context of course with missing hyperlinks and such,,, I finally found the paragraph that seemed to indicate what they were really selling.
"Description: You are viewing a complete management site with guestbook and userloging more. Please visit the site see more how the site look and feel we have extra template it will be offer to you. (You are require once you win the auction you must choose a webhosting package here (http://www.citywidetech.net/), you are biding on is the installation then buying the package hosted by us only.) "
Whatever it is you are buying, you are bidding on the installation of it and have to host it with www.citywidetech.net on one of their hosting packages. Viewing the page they refer you to, they have a free hosting package. So the bidding starts at $0.99 for an installation of Subdreamer Pro 2.3.2 and you can host it on a free web hosting package by the provider.
Wow, what a great deal! (Sorry,,, scam!)
Anyway, just something I came across and thought was odd enough to share. I would suggest staying away from offers like this for any software package / web script etc. I perceive it as nothing but a sales gimmick by a webhost to gain customers / service. If you really require a head start, you should research a reputable consultant who clearly shows what value added services they offer and what you are getting for your money.
2456 Views - View Comments (0)








